About Me

Welcome to My Website!

I am a behavioral health executive with over 30 years of experience building sustainable programs and strong leaders. I have experience with a wide range of revenue sources and service types.  I have strong strategic, clinical, financial, and leadership acumen and advanced understanding of industry practices, funding, and standards. 

 

My Career Path

I started my career thirty years ago as a Residential Counselor in a juvenile detention facility in Massachusetts.  I found that I loved counseling and connected deeply with adolescents.  I held various Counselor and Teaching positions through my early 20's and I came to understand that Social Work would be my calling.  Whether it was because my mother was a Special Education Teacher, or my father was an Executive Director at a Community Mental Health agency, or my experience with depression as a teen, helping vulnerable kids just seemed like the right path for me.

 

I moved to San Diego to complete my Master of Social Work at San Diego State University.  After graduation, I moved back to Massachusetts and held several clinical and management positions. 

  • I ran a Transition to Independent Living Group Home for youth exiting the foster care system.

  • I was a Therapist providing home-based family therapy for multi-stressed families.

  • I opened and led a Therapeutic After-School Program in inner-city Boston for seriously mentally ill adolescents returning from the State Hospital and Residential Treatment Centers.

  • I completed a post-graduate certification in Family Systems Therapy at the Family Institute of Cambridge, which inspired an ongoing passion with family therapy.

  • I then moved into senior management positions at The Home for Little Wanderers, the oldest child welfare agencies in the country.  I had several incredibly stimulating years at The Home, as a Clinical Director and then Director of Community Mental Health, developing many innovative programs. 

 

I relocated to California to be closer to my wife's family and raise my two sons.  

  • At Chamberlain's Children Center in Hollister, I ran a Residential Treatment Program and a Non-Public School (California's term for a private special education school).

  • I taught both undergraduate and graduate courses at the University of Phoenix for several years.

  • I moved to a rural area north of Sacramento to lead community mental health clinics for children and families for Victor Community Support Services.    

I absolutely loved working at Victor but could not pass up the opportunity to take on a leadership position at Edgewood Center for Children and Families in San Francisco, the oldest child welfare agency west of the Mississippi River.  As the CEO, I had the great fortune to develop both publicly funded and private-pay programs.  I also learned a great deal as a member of the Board of Directors of the California Alliance of Child and Family Services, an association of children's mental health and child welfare agencies across the state.

 

I made the decision to transition to Behavioral Health Consulting to have more work flexibility and to impact more agencies and families.  I was the Interim Director of Campus Operations at Casa Pacifica for about a year, one of the most impressive agencies anywhere.  I spent a period of time as the Chief Operating Officer at the Unity Care Group in San Jose, to help them with through an agency acquisition and extraordinary industry changes.  Today, I support non-profits and professionals in California and across the country.  I have a partnership with CTARS, Inc., a progressive software company from Australia that is transforming the way agencies manage clinical information.  I also provide Expert Witness consulting to law firms, regarding standards of care for mental health services to children and youth.

 

Me Personally (although my vocation is also very personal)

I am a husband of over 21 years of a smart, caring, amazing woman.  I am also a proud father of two amazing boys attending college.  I grew up in Northeast Massachusetts and I now live in Orinda, California, just east of Berkeley.  I have a passion for social justice, sports, music, and travel.

‚Äč

©2018 by Matthew Madaus Behavioral Health Consulting.